Construction Lines and 3D Objects.

Posted: January 5, 2013 in Crafts and Media Technologies, Introduction to Game Design, Technical Production Skills
Tags:

SEMC 3MP DSC

Construction lines are something that I hadn’t really come across before so I didn’t really know how to do them. Through practice (Which led to a lot of frustration and corrections) I have managed to come up with a couple of practices that look marginally successful even though I feel that I could do better with time and more practice because these are pretty basic and rubbish if I am honest. I also tried to do a 3D object at the bottom of the page, which was a bit of a failure as it curves in on itself a little, nothing to do with the curve in the object of course, but it leans in on itself on one side which is frustrating but as I said, my drawing skills are relatively new and I need to keep working on them.

SEMC 3MP DSC

This second image is a mixture of things I tried. The first one is a failed attempt at drawing a car using construction lines, I tried to create one side of the car and then giving it construction lines, tried to create the 3D effect that they usually give. As can be seen, it fell a little flat and looks very little like a car. The top right drawing on the page was my attempt at creating a crated image, a shape within a box. It was more successful than some of the previous drawings as it looked like what it was intended to be but it is still far from perfect so it is something else I need to work on. As the top left image is showing, I had a second attempt at the 3D object drawing again and it was only very slightly more successful than my first lopsided attempt.

Leave a Reply

